Writing Is Hard…..

The power of positive thinking can move mountains. If Gandhi did not believe that he could promote peaceful nonviolent action then it wold never have come to fruition, instead people would still be throwing rocks and stones at guards, bombing embassies and more .Sure some do it, but just look at the 1960s, they were peaceful about protesting. My point here is this, as a writer we sometimes end up attacking ourselves. Its like a wolf chewing his paw off to get out of the bear trap that a client may put us in. That trap is insidious, it’s perplexing and in some cases extremely cruel. Writers write because we love the language, and we want to be remembered forever. Benjamin Franklin said that the only way to be forever remembered was to get your name published. I read that when I was sixteen, and I reread it and read it again. I guess you could say that was when I feel for Franklin. But that’s another post entirely.

Clients come and go, some love your work and think you are the best thing since sliced bread and others they hate you.

Top Five Valid and Invalid Reasons A Client May Treat You Badly:

`1. You have too many grammatical errors! (Ok, if you did not proof your work then yes admit that and fix it. But it is all too common for non writers who think that they are writers to believe that a comma joining an otherwise run-on should not be there. It is all too common to find a client who thinks including the word “But” is unprofessional and it is all too common for a client to think that grammatical and descriptive mistakes are the same)

2. The client might just say “I’m not paying for this.” (In this case it could be a scope creep or simply someone who wants to take the copy and run. The warning signs are there, if you tell them it’s my copy 100% until you pay per our prior agreement, then it’s true because you should have them sign something acknowledging  it. If they say they are not going to pay immediately dispute it with the bid site or inform them that they have a contract.)

3.I had to stay up all night fixing it. (Really? But yet this client comes back for more. Give me a break! Just stay away from them.)

4.I’m paying you too.. and you do it! (Lord and Master need I say more.)

I could go on and on and on. But I won’t, it is just simply this as a freelance writer for over 15 years it was hard to find a site or a blog that realistically addressed my insecurities. I won awards from Press Associations, and great reviews from blogging sites. That should have been enough for me to look into the mirror and say “you are great at what you do.” But being attacked with negative comments, albeit they are not the norm can be scathing. Negativity promotes negative outlooks and a bad self image which will show in all of the work that you produce.

What I want you to do this week is look in the mirror and hug yourself, because you are a writer and you are putting yourself out there for the world to see. It takes guts and innovation, and of course grit. 

Check out this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AY91Kps2cAM&playnext=1&list=PLA66BE71170493D3D&feature=results_video

